Naturally Gutsy

Surviving SIBO, IBS-C, Celiac Disease, Motility Disorder, & Pelvic Floor Dysfunction …. with a smile.

The Yellow Brick Road to Gutsy Bliss!

on October 8, 2012

Pat, pat here
Pat, pat there
And a couple of brand new straws
That’s how we keep you young and fair
In the merry old land of Oz

The people of Oz (from the movie “The Wizard of Oz”), with their color-changing horses and happy songs, knew how to keep not only themselves but their visitors “young and fair” through taking care of them, making those little tweaks that keep everyone healthy and happy.

Well, I feel like in the last two weeks I’ve found my tweak that’s keeping things moving.  This is going to sound counter-intuitive for as much as I praise fats for their constipation-relieving effects.  You see, I’ve been eating a lot of healthy fats but almost no fiber for a long time.  And lately, I’ve added some fiber back into my diet in the form of a few veggies that I can tolerate; I’ve been eating them daily in soups and salads and whenever I can get them in, as they are my primary source of carbohydrates.

And now, by continuing to keep high fats, low carb, medium protein, and medium fiber portions in my daily food intake, I’m reaching that next level in gut health where constipation is less frequent.  While I’m still in the Battle of the Bloat on a daily basis, I’m beginning to see progress and I don’t think it’s just because I’ve added SCD yogurt either; I really believe it has something to do with adding back in a little more fiber.

Fiber here
Fat over there
And no more enemas!
That’s how we keep you moving along
In the merry land of Gutsy Bliss

SCD Yogurt
Ultra low carb
And some veggies and a steak
That’s how we beat the Bloat Monster
In the merry land of Gutsy Bliss


Leave a comment